h1

Paper ramble

October 24, 2007

To read a newspaper is to refrain from reading something worthwhile. The first discipline of education must therefore be to refuse resolutely to feed the mind with canned chatter.

– Aleister Crowley

I always had this quote in my stash of quotes awaiting for the right moment to be posted here and pondered upon. I never really understood.

Now, I know.

I was reading a pretty famous Hong Kong English newspaper. I always thought newspapers were to be neutral, news-casting, and such. I don’t really like reading Macau English newspapers because they’re really biased and opinionated. Well, one of the newer ones is quite good, honestly, but I don’t get it often.

So I was reading this Hong Kong English newspaper. I was reading a column. or something. This guy’s “column” was so full of himself. Belittling Macau and poking fun by degrading Macau. I don’t really mind the opinions. Well, I mind the degrading Macau bit, but then well, it’s still somebody’s opinion, and I wouldn’t be able to do anything about it. I mean, hey, it’s your opinion, fine. But on the other hand, hey, that’s a newspaper. What happened to the neutral news-casting newspaper?

And so, all that I have to say is, it’s a newspaper, let it be a newspaper, and if people are going to write “columns” with such biased reporting and hell, he was even poking fun at the industry and its terminology. But whatever, again, not something I have a say in.

What my opinion really is, is that, if you want to make such opinionated declarations/columns/reporting, go get a blog, thankyouverymuch. Don’t stain the good ol’ newspaper.

But I’m damn sure that every other piece of article in that newspaper would be the same opinionated thing anyway. I guess I really am a little miffed with making Macau a laughing stock. It’s old and boring, just cut that crap.

Leave a Reply

