h1

Le Chef knows best

March 14, 2008

When I first read about the Peanut Butter Dog Treats over that 4urpets, I raved about it at home. I told my Dad, the professional Chef of the house. We sometimes discuss about culinary skills and recipes as I’d shown interest in pastry making since high school and whenever I’m in the mood in learning and he’s in the mood in teaching he goes all “Master and Apprentice” at me.

So, as I said, I mentioned to him that I found a Dog treat recipe on the internet. He actually scoffed at me, saying “I don’t understand you kids. When there is a library full of good cookbooks that we professors and teachers know have good recipes that work, you kids look up the internet and the recipes never come out right!”

Well, yes, professional-chef-and-culinary-consultant-as-well-as-kitchen-instructor-at-local-hotel-school, I understand your pain regarding the kids not using your precious good books at the library, but you gotta look at the students’ perspective: they are in a hurry to find a recipe, ergo, internet.

But I digress and I’m going off tangent.

When my Dad just started working at the hotel school, I had to do alot of recipe typing for him. And I noticed there was a different way of typing recipe instructions for novice cooks (newbies, or n00bs, haha!), and working cooks (seasoned chefs).

So, I reworded the instructions and typed the Peanut Butter Dog Treats the master-chef way and sent over to Dad in the email saying “Maybe you could add this to your collection of recipes – but for dogs”.

In the evening, I asked him if he got the mail, and he just gave a curt nod. “Yes, thank you,” he said.

I thought he wasn’t all that interested, but suddenly he blurted out, “we’re making it this weekend.”

Ha! Who was it that was scoffing at me before!?

And then we launched into a discussion on the reaction of the peanut butter, milk, the issue of no sugar, why using whole wheat flour, and blah blah blah, before we’ve even tried the recipe. I hope the royalties (aka the dogs) at home appreciate the cookies. Well, if they don’t eat it, I sure damn well will, those choosey and picky woofies.

2 comments

  1. What a great post. And thanks for the link. Let me know how it went. I have to make some more this weekend for the pups. They love them. I make mine with non fat milk (Sissy is watching her figure).

    *
    We’re already finding some difficulties in ingredients as we don’t get the wide variety of products. We’re trying to improvise with what is available and we’re thinking of tweaking the recipe a bit. Will let you know what we come out with 😉
    kat


  2. you are an angel ❤
    i can’t even begin to tell you how much i’ve missed you. Thanks for the commenting. Dont worry :3 i’ll be fine soon. Thanks ❤

    *
    no worries about it – actually I simply add your RSS to my feeds and I get an update whenever you post something
    kat



Leave a Reply

