h1

Album: Kaleidoscope

July 19, 2008

Kaleidoscope
米倉千尋 Chihiro Yonekura [website]
KICS-1300
2007.04.25

Tracklisting

1. Kaleido Earth
2. 青空とキミへ
3. Sailing
4. tsubomi
5. Happy Happy Birthday
6. Dear my friend
7. ライオンの翼
8. True Name
9. 恋の時間
10. 胸いっぱいの愛
11. ボクはShine!!
12. 栞

☆ ★ ☆ ★ ☆

Chihi… it has been a long time since I ventured to listen to some new Chihi songs. Well, I’ve been a bit wary of new Chihi releases because of one particular album… There is no doubt I loved her Colours and her apples album, then her SPRING ~start on a journey~ album was quite good too. But then for some reason I got scarred when I got her azure and Cheers albums. Sorry, I just totally freaked out and stopped getting new Chihi releases…

Well, it did take me quite a long time to decide whether to get this Kaleidoscope album or not… I decided to give her a final chance, and voila, an album that I like. I’m thinking if I should backtrack to Fairwings or not. Then again, my aim really is to get the older Chihi albums like I believe and always.

In Kaleidoscope, I find I’m liking Kaleido Earth, 青空とキミへ (aosorato kimihe), and 恋の時間 (koi no jikan) very much. These are all the more up-beat-y numbers. Then again ライオンの翼 (raion no tsubasa) has that very nostalgic feel that I absolutely adore, just like Feel Me from her Colours album; not so much at the chorus though, it goes back to up-beat-y again.

Sailing is quite cute and catchy too, and Chihi seems to be singing with more gusto and huffing a little too (for the song theme maybe?)

Not trying to forget the slower and softer songs, the tracks from this album are not bad at all. In fact, I could see myself enjoying every single track in this album! I think that this time the album is very well done and I highly recommend this to those considering.

 

Watch out for some upcoming updates, I got quite some new albums (might be old stuff but newly acquired) so I’ll probably be commenting on these new materials as well!

2 comments

  1. try her fairwings album if u like the kaleidoscope album u will like fairwings more


  2. Not so bad review at all. I like Yonekura Chihiro because of her Gundam 08th MS Team, Senkaiden Hoshin Engi and Kaleido Star works. I didn’t listen to Kaleidoscope album seriously, but if you want to listen listen really good chihi songs, try her “jam” album. That’s the best, of you ask me.



Leave a Reply

