h1

Album: Reprise

September 8, 2008

240Reprise ~下川みくにアニソンベスト~
下川みくに Shimokawa Mikuni [link]
PCCA.025950
2007.12.19
Buy from CD Japan

Tracklist:
【Disc1】
  1. 水の星へ愛をこめて
  2. 魂のルフラン 
  3. 悲しみよこんにちは 
  4. 願い事ひとつだけ
  5. 想い出がいっぱい
  6. 残酷な天使のテーゼ
  7. 輪舞-revolution-
  8. ETERNAL WIND ~ほほえみは光る風の中~
  9. 愛・おぼえていますか
  10. KUJIKENAIKARA!
  11. そばかす(新録音)
     

【Disc2】

  1. Alone
  2. tomorrow
  3. 枯れない花
  4. all the way
  5. それが、愛でしょう
  6. 君に吹く風
  7. 南風
  8. もう一度君に会いたい
  9. Bird
  10. 藍色の空の下で
  11. Life(新録音/オリジナル曲)
★ ☆ ★ ☆ ★ ☆ ★ ☆ ★ ☆ ★ ☆
To be very honest… I have no idea who Shimokawa Mikuni is. In fact , I was just innocently clicking around CDJapan and found this album, and I saw, wow… so many classics so I got this…

I’ve also noticed that lately there have been quite some re-renditions of past songs… what with Okui Masami’s (奥井雅美) Buddy album, and Yonekura Chihiro’s (米倉千尋) Ever After album… maybe it’s the new trend to try singing other people’s songs? There were so many what I considered classics (just because it has been a long time since I last heard those songs) that I fell into temptation… haha…

In my personal opinion, Shimokawa’s rendition of the select few tracks that I know of… do not do them justice… her voice is too “cute” to do some of the heavier and more aggressive tracks like 輪舞-revolution- and  魂のルフラン . I also think that her version of 愛・おぼえていますか is very poor… well… her voice just couldn’t go high like Iijima Mari (飯島真理) and well… I think 愛・おぼえていますか was just too much of a classic to be re-recorded by someone else… so I dunno.

In the other tracks, Shimokawa’s voice is quite well, matching the song types that she does, but the music just doesn’t seem right. I totally couldn’t recognize 悲しみよこんにちは   and 願い事ひとつだけ … but I know I must know these tracks from somewhere… but nay…. argh…

Well, let’s talk what I like. Her 想い出がいっぱい is great. Although her rendition of 残酷な天使のテーゼ  seemed a little off, but there was some added personal touch in that supposed-to-be-choir part and I quite liked this novelty in the song. I totally dig for Shimokawa’s version of そばかす… the original by…. who? I forgot… used such a sharp pitched voice that I remember it put me off watching Ruroni Kenshin just because of that opening song…

I’m not familiar with the tracks on Disc II so I couldn’t say much… I’m also not sure whether these are originally from other artists though… um…. but generally it seems the tracks on Disc II are alot better than those in Disc I. Or maybe I’m biased? I dunno…

I find myself being very partial to the ballad-ish 枯れない花 and also the very chipper 藍色の空の下で . This track just makes me think of blue skies and white clouds and running around in fields… well… figures… the track title is about being under the blue sky….. hehe….

There, my two cents… yay….

To conclude, although I’m not too much impressed by Shimokawa but I’ll be keeping a lookout for at least one her own albums so I could make a more fair judgement on her… I just couldn’t decide which one 😛

Leave a Reply

