h1

Camerata Salzburg

January 20, 2009

Macau Cultural Centre 10th Anniversary Opening Programme

 

Macau’s Lio Brothers & Camerata Salzburg
Sunday 18 January 2009 – 20:00 – Grand Auditorium

Programme

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Divertimento in D major, K.205

Largo – Allegro
Menuetto
Adagio
Menuetto
Finale: Presto

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra in F major, K.242

Allegro
Adagio
Rondeau: Tempo di Menuetto

Pianos: Lio Kuok Man, Lio Kuok Wai

– Intermission –

Arnold Schoenberg (1874-1951)
Waltzes for String Orchestra

Kraeftig
Nicht zu rasch
Etwas langsam
Etwas rasch
Rasch
[untitled]
Kraeftig
Getragen
Lebhaft
Nicht rasch

Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
Symphony No.52 in C minor, Hob.I:52

Allegro assai con brio
Andante
Menuetto: Allegretto
Finale: Presto

Concertmaster and Principal Leader:
Natalie Chee
Camerata Salzburg

* * * * *

Actually, if you ask me, I think that this time the show was rather poorly organized and marketed. I didn’t know that the Salzburg Camerata would be here when I bought th tickets. The marketing and advertisements of this show was explicitly on the “Macau Lio Brothers”. I don’t mean that they were bad. They were actually quite good. But I had the worst of experiences here.

First, I had a very nice upper level seat. I would have been able to have a grand view of everything. They say that due to some unforeseen technical problem that all people upstairs have to be moved to down below with “nice seats”

From my observation though, this “unforeseen technical problem” is really that the auditorium was empty. There were so many empty seats, so I think they either wanted to close off the second floor to either save electricity, or to save their reputation.

Then was the fact that the “Macau Lio Brothers” only performed 1 single piece in the middle of the programme. I mean, they were like “guests performers”, why advertise the show as their show? I reckon that if they had marketed it properly as the Camerata Salzburg, there would have been more audiences, as Macau people are usually suckers for “famous international performances”.

Anyway, I enjoyed the pieces performed. The piano duet didn’t sound like a piano duet at all but I guess that’s Mozart’s problem and not the performers’. The Camerata Salzburg were excellent. Never seen such a performance without an actual conductor standing there waving his hands, it was all down on the lead violinist! so wow! I’m in awe!

Still have no plans or schedule for future shows, so, until next time!

Leave a Reply

