h1

XXIIIMIMF – Sydney Symphony

October 24, 2009

A couple days ago, I went to the Sydney Symphony for the music festival. It was, plainly, AWESOME!

My boss had tickets but he said he wasn’t going in the last minute – I was unable to find someone to take up the tickets, and I had already bought my own tickets. What else could I have done, but take a free upgrade of seats? :3

I found the conductor very amusing. His postures and actions seem really exaggerated, and yet although it was quite comical to look at, you just know that he knows what he’s doing.

Program:

S. Rachmaninov (1873-1943): Vocalise, op. 34, No. 14
E. Elgar (1857-1934): Enigma Variations, op. 36
S. Prokofiev (1891-1953): Symphony No. 5 in B-flat major, op. 100

The Rachmaninov was simply beautiful and I loved how their strings sounded. Sadly I already don’t remember what the encores were (I should have written this post right after the show!) I really hope the Sydney Symphony will make a comeback in future music festivals!

Leave a Reply

