h1

Plinky: The Farthest I’ve Traveled from Home

February 22, 2011

This was actually a Plinky post from a few days ago, but for some reason, it seems Plinky isn’t exporting my answer into here… the thing just says it’s “posting” and it just never stops “loading”, as it says… so… a copy and past job is here!

The Farthest I’ve Traveled from Home

By looking at the world map, it will seem to be Portugal… Harbin is just a 5-hour flight whereas Portugal is a whole +13-hour flight (If a direct flight were available). I’ve been to Portugal a couple of times – mostly when I was young so I don’t remember much. My most recent trip to Portugal was some time 2001 or 2002, when I did my Internship there.

The flight there was excruciating! First, I had to fly from Macau to Taipei… that was already a 2-hour or so flight. Then I had to wait for another 2 hours for a connecting flight to Vienna, with a stopover in Bangkok. Must have been a 16-hour flight. I arrived Vienna at the crack of dawn… It was some 5am I guess.

From there, I had to wait 12 hours for a connecting flight to Lisbon… via Frankfurt. And so, I spent the 12 hours out in Vienna touring a bit.

There’s a bit of info I should add though. I had this itinerary because it was cheaper that way, and there was actually no flights that flew directly to Lisbon, even from Hong Kong. I had family in Austria, so I decided to do this “nice” detour of sorts.

After my 2-month internship in a Travel Agency in Lisbon (was staying with family as well), I was on my merry way back to… Vienna, for 2 weeks. This time I had to go down to Styria and really spent some time with family.

So even though I’ve traveled away from “home”, I was just practically going to my “other homes” XD

Given that, does that mean the farthest I’ve traveled from home is Harbin, China? Maybe…

Leave a Reply

