h1

Review: Norwegian Wood

June 14, 2011

Norwegian WoodNorwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I know, Haruki Murakami, great author and all, lots of fans and whatnot, but this book just didn’t do it for me.

It seems that… there is no plot, there is seemingly no climax (I’m still trying to think which of those incidents is supposed to be the climax) and the ending is just as baffling. I don’t get it. At. All.

I guess it somehow reads more like a diary or a journal. We start with this current Toru Watanabe thinking about his past… but usually, with this kind of setting, wouldn’t the ending of the book be a wrap up of this "thoughts of the past" and then zoom back to the current character and I dunno, say some sort of conclusion?

The way the book ended felt like it was just cut off. For some people, it may seem that it’s very good, and great and that it ended with the right mysterious flavour, but for me, I still have the beginning of the book, clearly in my mind, so, I keep asking, "so what’s this got to do with the beginning of the book?"

It’s just this Toru going through his late adolescent life, his friends die, blah blah, he’s stuck, he’s lost, sleeps around, meets a new friend, nice girl and all, starts to like her, stops sleeping around, then sleeps with a woman 19years his senior 4 times in a night.

I’m not really discriminating about the age. Maybe I’m old fashioned, but if he already liked a girl enough to ask her to "wait for him" then I think it’s just common courtesy to not sleep with anyone else. Or maybe something’s wrong with me, I have no idea.

Once again, this is one of those books that it was enjoyable while I’m reading it, but when I reach the end, the ending just… is either inconclusive, doesn’t wrap things up, no closure… or just simply doesn’t make sense, whatsoever with regards with how the story started. Sorry.

View all my reviews

One comment

  1. A quick word search pulled up lots of ‘worship’, in Old and New, so there is a Hebrew word there too. Like you said, there are different renderings i Click https://zhoutest.wordpress.com/



Leave a Reply

